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      Policies and Procedures for  

     Conducting Criminal Background Checks 

 
Authority 

Utah Statute provides Child Care Licensing (CCL) the authority to perform background 
screenings under Title 26, Chapter 39, Section 404. Statute also gives authority to the 
Department of Work Force Services (DWS) to perform background screenings under 
Title 35A, Chapter 3, Section 310.5. The Office of Child Care (OCC) at DWS contracts 
with CCL to perform background screenings. Administrative rules governing these 
background checks are found in R430-6, and R986-700-751 through 756. 
 
CCL conducts background screenings on all covered individuals in licensed and legally 
exempt child care facilities. Covered individuals include all owners, directors, members 
of the governing body, employees, providers of care, volunteers (excluding parents of 
children enrolled in the program who are not left unsupervised), all individuals 12 and 
older residing in the facility where child care is provided, and anyone who has 
unsupervised access to children in care. 

Child care providers have 10 working days to submit to CCL a completed and 
authorized background screening form, fingerprints, and all applicable fees for all 
Covered Individuals. Background screening forms are to be submitted online. The steps 
for submitting a background screening are listed at the end of this document. 

A CCL background check includes: 

 FBI national fingerprint database, Next Generation. This is done for individuals 
18 years and older, and for 16 and 17 year old assistant caregivers 

 UCJIS (Utah Criminal Justice Information System) 
 Utah Juvenile Criminal History 
 Utah Court Exchange 
 LIS (Licensing Information System) in Human Services. LIS lists individuals with 

substantiated cases of child abuse and neglect 
 Utah and National Sex Offender Registry names of individuals and facility 

address 

Time Frames for CCL to Conduct Background Screenings 

Normally, CCL will conduct a background screening and communicate the results to the 
provider within 10 working days from receiving a complete and authorized background 
screening form, fingerprints, and all required fees. 

Some delays may occur when additional information is required, when fingerprints are 
rejected, or when fingerprint results have not been received. Additional delays may 
occur depending on workload issues such as the additional number of individuals 
needing to have background screenings done, or during the transition process for the 
implementation of new requirements. 
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Reasons for a Denial 

Approval will be denied for any Covered Individual with a felony or misdemeanor A 
conviction, plea in abeyance, conversion, no contest, or diversion. Approval may also 
be denied for specific misdemeanor B or C convictions, such as offenses against a 
person, pornography, prostitution or any type of sexual offense, simple assault, 
lewdness, child abuse, contributing to the delinquency of a minor, selling or supplying 
alcohol to a minor, and animal cruelty. Individuals listed on the Utah or National Sex 
Offender Registry will also be denied. 

If there is an error on a record or if the record can be expunged, it is the Covered 
Individual’s responsibility to resolve the matter by contacting the Utah Department of 
Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification. As soon as the matter is resolved, the 
Covered Individual must submit a new Background Screening form and legal 
documentation of the expungement, dismissal, etc. to CCL. 

Confidentiality 

All information regarding the Covered Individual’s background screening will be kept 
confidential and no details regarding the screening can be released or disclosed over 
the phone. The provider will be notified if the Covered Individual is denied. 

When contacted by other States’ child care licensing agencies, CCL will only disclose 
that an individual cleared or did not clear a CCL background screening. 

Background Screening Card 

If the background screening is approved, a Background Screening Card will be issued 
for the approved Covered Individual and sent to the facility if not previously issued. The 
provider must make a copy of that card and keep it in the Covered Individual’s file for 
review by CCL. The original Background Screening Card must be given back to the 
Covered Individual. An annual background screening must be done every year before 
the end of the month on the card by submitting a new online Background Screening 
Form and all required fees. A new Background Screening Card will not be issued every 
year. 

A Covered Individual can use their current Background Screening Card to work or 
volunteer at any child care facility in Utah. However, within ten working days from 
becoming involved with child care at a new facility, the covered individual must 
submit a background screening form and be authorized by the new facility 
through the child care licensing provider portal for verification and CCL 
approval. No fees are required if the last background screening was done within the 
last 10 months. Fingerprints may be required if the new facility was initially regulated 
after June 30, 2013, or if the facility receives or plans to receive CCDF funds and 
fingerprints were not previously done using the FBI Next Generation fingerprint process.  

Replacement cards can be requested for a $5.00 fee. 

If a Covered Individual has moved out of the state, a new background screening form, 
fingerprints, and fees must be submitted within ten working days of becoming involved 
with child care or moving into a facility where child care is provided. 
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Fingerprints 

Fingerprints and all required fees must be submitted if, at the time of submission: 

 The Covered Individual is 18 years old or older and has not lived in Utah 
continuously for the past five years. 

 The Covered Individual is 18 years old or older and has an out-of-state driver’s 
license. 

 The Covered Individual is 18 years old or older and is involved with a new facility. 

Fingerprints processed by someone different than CCL can be accepted if prior to 
submitting to the FBI, the person submitting the fingerprints contacts CCL to make the 
required payments and to get the codes needed so the FBI sends the results to CCL. 

Next Generation FBI Fingerprints 

The Next Generation FBI fingerprint or rap-back is a system through which the FBI will 
retain the covered individual’s fingerprints and provide CCL with daily federal and state 
reports that match these fingerprints against any new charges, arrests, warrants or 
convictions. This Next Generation process allows CCL the ability to only require a 
covered individual to be fingerprinted once because of the continuous monitoring of the 
system.  
 
A Next Generation FBI fingerprint check is required on all covered individuals 
associated with facilities that receive any monies from OCC.  A Next Generation FBI 
fingerprint check is only required once, for as long as the individual is associated with 
any child care provider in Utah. All other background checks and fees are required 
every year. 

ONLINE SUBMISSION OF BACKGROUND SCREENING FORMS 

All Background Screening forms must be submitted online annually for each Covered 
Individual. 

Step 1:  The Covered Individual 18 years old and older or the parent/guardian of a 
Covered Individual younger than 18 years old completes and submits the Background 
Screening Form by: 

A. Going to the CCL website at childcarelicensing.utah.gov. (Log out of the Child 
Care Licensing Portal, if logged in.), 

B. Completing and submitting the background screening form found on the left-
hand side of the page under the “Submit a Background Screening Form” tab, 
and  

C. Obtaining and submitting fingerprints, if required. (See requirements listed on 
the Background Screening form and above.).  

Step 2: The Licensee/Certificate Holder/Exempt Provider authorizes each Covered 
Individual’s completed Background Screening Form through the Care About Child Care 
(CAC) Child Care Licensing Portal by: 



CCL August 2016 
 

A. Going to the Care About Childcare (CAC) website at 
careaboutchildcare.utah.gov.  

B. Clicking “Providers” (bottom center of the CAC home page).  
C.Clicking “Log In.”  
D.Logging in using your CAC username and password. If you do not have a login, 

please contact your local CAC agency at careaboutchildcare.utah.gov or call 
toll-free at 1-855-531-2468.  

E. Clicking the “Child Care Licensing Portal” link (bottom center of the CAC home 
page).  

F. Clicking on “Background Screenings” in the menu on the left side of the page.  
G. In the “Pending Screenings for Covered Individuals” section, reviewing the 

names of each Covered Individual who submitted a background screening form.  
H.Clicking “Authorize” when you know the individual and want the background 

screening submitted.  
I. Clicking “Cancel” when you know the individual and don't want the background 

screening submitted, or when there is a duplicate. 
J. Clicking “Unknown to the Facility” when you don't know the individual. 

Step 3:  Pay the background screening fee for each Covered Individual and the 
fingerprint fee for each Covered Individual’s fingerprints (if fingerprints are required).  
Note: Family, Friend & Neighbor providers are not required to pay the background 
screening fee. 

 A credit card payment may be made by calling 801-374-7688, 801-273-6617, or 801-
273-2904. Please leave a message if no one answers.  

 A check or money order made payable to the “Utah Department of Health” may be 
mailed or hand delivered to a CCL office.  

 A cash payment in the exact amount may be hand delivered to a CCL.  
 

If you have questions or concerns regarding these policies, the Background Screening 
Form, or the criminal background screening procedure, call the Background Clearance 
Unit at 866-320-0513. 

 


